Sunday, June 19, 2011
Yard Sale FAIL!
Yesterday was yard sale day...but of course, I was fooled by weather.com into thinking that it was going to rain all day, so I ended up sleeping in until 11, then realized it was actually not rainy, so as I started to set up, of course it WOULD start raining! Gahh, so Nate and I went to lunch at Bagel Mainea (delish) and decided to just not have the yard sale due to rainy weather. We then stopped by our home away from home, otherwise known as Lowes Hardware to pick up some painter's tape and decided to paint the upstairs hallway instead. I was happy with that decision, until the sun came out mid-afternoon and stayed out the rest of the day! Man, lesson learned: do not fully rely on weather.com! The hallway looks nice except it still needs a second coat in some places, but we ran out of Sandy Star paint, so it will have to wait to be finished for another day! I was originally going to go to Portland with Nate and his dad to help out with them live-stream-videoing a sports award event, but instead, since it looked like it was going to be a beautiful day out, I stayed behind to run the yard sale on my own. Since we made $300 last weekend, I was pumped to go out there and roll in some more dough to put towards our future couch! But lo and behold, it turns out that a sunny Sunday that also happens to be father's day is a TERRIBLE day to have a yard sale! There were maybe 10 people who stopped by and I made a whopping $12...crazy!! I couldn't believe the difference! Luckily, my 16 (turning 17 tomorrow!) year old brother Zac, came by and kept me company for a few hours and my mom came by around lunch time (and brought us Subway--yummy!) to join in the fun as well, the only problem being that since my mom called to ask what we wanted for lunch, not a single person had shown up! So after a couple more hours of sitting out in the sun with my mom and bro, my brother got bored and peaced out while my mom helped me pack everything up and bring it back inside. As she was leaving I asked if she would take the yard sale signs down for me, but surprisingly, when we went to get them, they weren't there! Who steals yard sale signs? I mean SERIOUSLY! No wonder no one showed up! Gosh, some people are so rude! I honestly don't know who would have done that...but I don't think they are very nice.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment